Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University

  • Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University, lovingly abbreviated as SMU, is an academic center of excellence in Pretoria.
  • It was previously known as the Medical University of South Africa (MEDUNSA).
  • It is named after the South African ANC leader, SefakoMakgathowho was the second president of the ANC. He was instrumental in the establishment and promotion of education and teaching as a means of empowerment.
  • This innovative and enlightened thinking is the basis of the philosophy of SMU which has now grown to be a unique setting that offers both academic excellence and a vibrant student life.